Nomination and Election Committee – 2007-08

Dr. Autar Mattoo of Maryland is KOA’s NEC Chairman until December 2008. Assisting him will be Dr. Hira Nakhasi and Dr. Sujata Qasba, both from Maryland.

Dr. Autar Mattoo, a scientist by profession, has been involved with KOA ever since its inception. He was an Editor for KOA’s newsletter for a number of years. Dr. Hira Nakhasi, a scientist by profession, was KOA Director for Zone 4 (2001-2002) and Dr. Sujata Qasba, a pediatrician by profession, was also a KOA Director for Zone 4 (2003-2004). As per KOA bylaws, Soman Dhar, KOA secretary, is the ex-officio member of the committee.

Dr. Mattoo, Research Leader of the Vegetable Laboratory at Beltsville, Maryland, is known internationally as an authority in two diverse programs: molecular aspects of chloroplast function with particular emphasis on the photosystem II reaction center proteins, and regulation of ethylene biosynthesis and fruit ripening. His pioneering investigations have provided fundamental new knowledge and novel concepts. ( Source: )

Contact Information:

Dr. Autar Mattoo

Dr. Autar Mattoo
7201 Exbury Court
Laurel, MD 20707
(301) 725-6515

Dr. Hira Nakhasi

Dr. Hira Lal Nakhasi
8504 Potomac School Ter.
Potomac, MD 20854
(301) 469-7084

Dr. Sujata Qasba

Dr. Sujata Qasba
6302 Morning Dew Court
Clarksville, MD 21029
(410) 531-1408